Alumni Spotlight: Shuntae Wordlaw, Interior Design

shuntaeDallas native Shuntae Wordlaw graduated from Wade College with a degree concentration in Interior Design. “I have loved the design industry for as long as I can remember. One of my favorite things to do as a little girl was to sketch floor plans of my imaginary dream home. As I became older, I started sketching furniture to place inside my dream home. Later, I started imagining what colors the walls would be and what the accessories would look like. It was then that I realized that what I envisioned had become bigger than me and that I should pursue a career in interior design.”

Shuntae is the Display Coordinator for Haverty’s Furniture. “I begin my day at work walking the showroom floor to ensure that everything looks presentable for the customers. After the showroom is nice and tidy, the real work begins. I spend my day hanging pictures, changing displays, placing accessories, and making beds. I also offer customers tips and tricks with designing their home. I love that each day is different. There is always a design challenge to be solved.”

For people beginning their careers in this industry, Shuntae recommends, “Keep an open mind. The rules in design are not concrete. Don’t be afraid to step out of the box and take a risk. It’s those moments that we create amazing things!”

Leave a Reply

